

### News Release

# **West Dubuque FFA Wins 2017 Iowa FFA Dairy Cattle CDE**

The 2017 Iowa FFA Dairy Cattle Career Development Event was held in conjunction with the Youth Dairy Classic in Manchester on Saturday, September 9, 2017. Twenty-four teams and seventy-nine individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide students an opportunity to display their knowledge and skills in the area of dairy cattle selection and management.

The West Dubuque FFA Chapter located in Epworth was named the Iowa Champion FFA Dairy Cattle Team. Team members included: Regan Demmer, Madison Strief, Garrett Pfeiler, and Trenton Hammerand. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Luke Rauen. The champion team will compete in the National FFA Dairy Cattle Career Development Event during the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana this October.

The Reserve Champion Team in Dairy Judging was the Edgewood-Colesburg FFA Chapter located in Edgewood. Team members included: Kohl Moser, Calvin Heims, Jacob Wessel, and Jordan Wegmann. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Ed Wadsworth. Blake Courtney from Decorah was the Champion Individual. Rachel Grober from New Hampton was the Reserve Champion Individual.

The Iowa FFA Dairy Cattle Career Development Event was made possible with support from Associated Milk Producers, Inc. and the Iowa State University Dairy Science Club through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Allflex USA sponsored the State Winning Team plaque through the National FFA Foundation.

Jake Fitzpatrick, Nashua Lansing, Nevin Lansing, and Walt Wessel were the official judges for the placing classes. Dean Weber from Rockwell prepared the testing materials.

Listed below are the top teams and individuals in the various parts of the career development event.

### Top 10 Teams

- 1 West Dubuque FFA, Epworth
- 2 Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood
- 3 Decorah FFA, Decorah
- 4 Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa
- 5 Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi
- 6 New Hampton FFA, New Hampton
- 7 Cascade FFA
- 8 North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union
- 9 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
- 10 North Scott FFA, Eldridge

### **Top 10 Individuals**

Blake Courtney, Decorah FFA, Decorah
Rachel Grober, New Hampton FFA, New Hampton
Trenton Hammerand, West Dubuque FFA, Epworth
Calvin Heims, Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood
Regan Demmer, West Dubuque FFA, Epworth
Jacob Wessel, Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood
Abby Diesing, Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa
Madison Strief, West Dubuque FFA, Epworth
Kohl Moser, Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood
Abby Hoefler, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

### **Specialty Areas -- Top Team/ Top Individual:**

### **Dairy Cow and Heifer Placing Classes**

**Team:** Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa

Individual: Macie Weigand, M-F-L-Mar-Mac FFA, Monona

**Oral Reasons** 

Team: West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

Individual: Blake Courtney, Decorah FFA, Decorah

## **Dairy Production and Management Test Team:** West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

Individual: Calvin Heims, Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood

**Herd Data Evaluation** 

Team: Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Individual: Blake Courtney, Decorah FFA, Decorah

# Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group. Gold Teams (10)

### Score Range (1619 to 1418)

West Dubuque FFA, Epworth
Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood

Decorah FFA, Decorah Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi New Hampton FFA, New Hampton

Cascade FFA

North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

North Scott FFA, Eldridge

### **Bronze Teams (4)**

Score Range (909 to 425)

Alburnett FFA, Alburnett

South Winneshiek FFA, Calmar

Turkey Valley FFA at Jackson Junction

Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls

### Silver Teams (10)

Score Range (1365 to 1145)
St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar
East Buchanan, Winthrop
M-F-L-Mar-Mac FFA, Monona
Anamosa FFA, Anamosa
Bellevue FFA, Bellevue
Linn-Mar FFA, Marion
Starmont FFA, Arlington
Nevada FFA, Nevada

Independence FFA Chapter

Pella FFA, Pella

### The following FFA Members served as show persons during the event and were ranked as follows:

### Gold Awards (13)

Ashley Nierling, Decorah FFA, Decorah

Austin Koch, North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

Rachel Darnall, North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

Tara Goedken, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Carter Kruse, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Jessie Carolan, Decorah FFA, Decorah

Garrett Lovstuen, Decorah FFA, Decorah

Cassi Westhoff, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Brylie Volker, Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA

Amanda Engelken, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Tanner Freiburger, Cascade FFA

Lillian Trumm, Cascade FFA

Rachel Hefel, West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

### Silver Awards (2)

Ethan Frana, Decorah FFA, Decorah

Sarah Goedken, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

#### **Bronze Awards (4)**

Wyatt Lynch, Cascade FFA

Michael Trumm, Cascade FFA

Brady Graff, Cascade FFA

Zach Schroeder, North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

### About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 233 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.